It’s My First Time

Right now, I am a little bit in shock. I am actually going to the summit this year and it is my first time. All sorts of things are running through my head. What to do? Where to go? Who to meet? Should I get a kilt? Will I need to wear pants? Wow, many, many decisions and all this needs to be planed (or semi planned) over the next few weeks. In addition to helping plan and host a SQL Saturday (ahem, #97, go register) and another large event for 300+ people at my church on the same day as SQL Saturday no less.

Luckily there is a lot of great information out there for first timers. Like on the PASS web site, first timer’s orientation. Denny Cherry ( twitter | blog ) has a good video on some basics for first timers as well as some “extra things to do”. Check it out here.

What To Do

I am so glad I attended almost every 24HOP session. They were a great way to help me figure out which pre-cons to attend and get a more in-depth learn-on. Thanks PASS for thinking of me. :)

So, how did I pick the pre-con session(s)? I put all the sessions on a dart board (by day) and threw darts! Even if I did if I did do it that way I couldn’t go wrong with all the awesomesauce sessions to choose from. Actually, I choose the ones that will further my understanding of the technologies I work with every day in support of the many projects I work on. (At least that’s what I am putting down “officially”) Unofficially I want learn more and to effectively and confidently do some smack downs when they are warranted. :)

Where To Go

I will do a little planning on this but not all that much. I plan on following twitter to see where all the cool people will be hanging. That is unless I get actual invites to parties (wink wink, nudge nudge)

I am also going to try and hit up the first timer’s ball, or party. I will also be looking up the PASS volunteer gathering to meet some of the people I have worked with over the last few years. Overall I am going to be as fluid as possible and go with the flow.

Who To Meet

I interact with so many cool people on twitter, going to the summit will give me the opportunity to meet, talk and maybe hangout (if I am lucky) with some of them for the first time, and others again. Who am I looking forward to meeting? No one person in particular. I am not playing favorites here, no matter who it is, even if we’ve never chatted before I want to meet you. So don’t be surprised if I come up and ask you who you are and what you do.

Final Thoughts

I am really psyched about going to PASS this year. Have I figured out Where to go, What to do, Who to meet, Am I wearing pants, or a Kilt? Not completely, although a kilt is most likely not in the cards. But that is OK too. The important thing is I am going to the summit. I am going to get my SQL learn on and everything else will either fall into place or it won’t. If you are going, look me up, I’ll be around and having fun.

Cheers!

 

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

