Loving what you do, doing what you love

I realized long ago, if you don’t love what you do then you’re doing the wrong thing. Find something you love to do and do it. Not to get too philosophical but, life is too short to not like (love) what you do

I love being a Database Administrator! It is exciting, challenging, and stressful (at times) but I always have fun and I love it. I try to “learn something new everyday”. That is one of the good things about being a DBA. I basically get paid to play all day long!

Since I am a Development DBA (the other being a Production DBA) I know what I don’t know and that is the Production side of database maintenance and such. While I do have hands on knowledge of and experience with creating maintenance plans and even have experience with trouble shooting. The experience I do have is limited and not part of my daily routine.

I have decided to move from my comfort zone and pursue more knowledge and learning on the Production DBA side. This may sound kinda corny but that’s what I want to do. I realize my comfy 9-5 (actually 7:30-4:30) Developer DBA job is nothing like a 24/7/365 Production DBA job but that is O.K. I am ready and feel I can and want to take on the responsibility.

I started with switching some of the blogs I follow to some more related to the things I know I need to work on.

I purchased “Professional SQL Server 2008 Internals and Troubleshooting”, by several well known SQL Server Experts and MVPs like Christian Bolton ( blog | twitter), Justin Langford ( blog | twitter), Brent Ozar ( blog | twitter), James Rowland-Jones ( blog | twitter), Jonathan Kehayias ( blog | twitter), Cindy Gross ( blog | twitter), and Steven Wort ( blog | twitter)

I figured if I can absorb even a small portion of the collective minds that had a part in this book I can’t go wrong and will be that much better at my job.

I also made a list of things I need to learn more about. Of course this list is just a start and I will most likely expand on it as I go.

  • Best Practices for SQL Server setup
  • Disaster Planning
  • Backup and Recovery,
  • Troubleshooting,
  • Index Tuning
  • Memory
  • Security
  • Storage

As usual anything I pick up along the way while reading this I’ll pass along, within reason of course. After all if you really want to learn the information you should buy their book and read their blogs too.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

