Moving On To Something New

I have written in the past about wanting to transition from a Development DBA to a Production DBA. Well, I am happy to announce I will be starting a new job by the end of the month.

I will be on a team of DBAs and one of three supporting SQL Server. A few weeks ago I went for a tour of the facility to meet the team, get an idea of the environment and ask as many questions as possible to help me determine if the position was what I really wanted. I did meet some of the members of the team mostly the Oracle DBA’s. Seems the SQL Server DBA’s were MIA. I don’t know if that is good or bad sign. Since they were not around I limited in the questions I could ask. I did talk with one since he was assisting in the introductions, but most of my questions were deflected since he worked with Oracle. I am still not sure if I will be stepping into a mess or a fine tuned machine? Are they constantly putting out fires or babysitting? The people I did meet did not outwardly appear to be in panic mode, a positive. I also did not see anyone running around with their hair on fire, another good sign. Either way it doesn’t matter, I am excited and scared at the same time.

I just turned in my letter of resignation and surprisingly it went very, very well. My current manager even got a glimmer of a tear in her eye. She thanked me, wished me well. We will talk over the next few days and next week. I said I would help with whatever was needed for an information dump and turnover. Since I have documented a great deal of processes recently much of the work is already done.

I do have some anxiety and stress building. What really helped was the past 10 days I was on vacation, sitting on the beach, soaking up the sun and starting happy hour in the early afternoon. Daily! (another post altogether). The entire process started back in June when I first applied. I used the past two months and recently the off work time to prepare for the transition and new path in my career.

One of the things I did was read Thomas LaRock’s ( blog | twitter ) book, “DBA Survivor”. The book is written for my current situation. He has some great ideas you can use starting on day one. If I follow what Thomas says to do will I be a Rock Star DBA? Who knows? Only time will tell. What I do know is this is a great opportunity and a turning point in my career and I plan on making the most of it.

There you have it. I can now cross off another item on my career plan.

“The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades” – Timbuk3

Cheers!

2 comments

  1. Congratulations! I guess the hardest part in getting a new job is not the new job itself but saying goodbyes to our co-workers and bossess. As Richard Bach said, “leaving is always sad and solemn.”

Leave a Reply

