Fighting Burn-out

This is my first post in several months, 3 to be exact. Why? Several things contributed to that the subject of this post being one.

Definition

burn-out noun \ˈbərn-ˌau̇t\
: the cessation of operation usually of a jet or rocket engine; also : the point at which burnout occurs

2
a : exhaustion of physical or emotional strength or motivation usually as a result of prolonged stress or frustration b : a person suffering from burnout

(http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/burnout)

Everyone experiences burn-out of some degree from time to time. My recent experience and how I recovered am recovering is what I wanted to share here. Writing about it will help in a few ways. Writing it down helps you to collect your thoughts, set your mind at ease and gets you moving. And if this helps even one person (besides me) that’s all I could hope for.

Recognizing You Have A Problem

They say (you “those people”) the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem. O.K. I am (or was) burnt-out. There. I said it. It’s all out in the open now.

What Causes Burn-out?

If you volunteer for more than one cause/event/thing at a time, you may be burnt-out. If you have meetings every day related to one or more causes you volunteer for, you may be burnt-out. If you have a hard time saying “no” to a worthy cause, you may be burnt-out. If the only free time is when you are sitting down taking care of business (you know what I mean) or sleeping, you are be burnt-out. Get some help!

How To Combat Being Burn-out

First thing after identifying you are burn-out you should do is, wait for it, wait for I, do nothing. That’s right do absolutely nothing. What I mean by that is don’t do anything related to what caused the burn-out to occur. Do other mindless activities. Like watch TV. For example watch “Dancing with the Stars”, or “America’s Got Talent”, or any one of those other “reality” shows. Read book, remember nothing related to the “cause”. Get back on that physical exercise routine you haven’t done since August.

What I Am Doing

I am starting to write again. As evidenced by this post. I have been reading a lot. I went to the library back before Christmas and found some books I have read in the past and read them again. As a result Santa Clause brought me a new book. By reading that one I discovered there were others written after the last one and before this one. In fact, I just got back from the library checking out one of them. I am still doing the thing that caused me to feel burnt-out but I am easing back into it. I started running again and even thinking about getting into the new craziness of GetHawt organized by Sarah Strate ( blog | twitter ) and Jen McCown ( blog | twitter ). The jury is still out on that one and only time will tell.

I also have a few other posts started that I will be finishing and posting. I addition I am working on at least one new presentation and am seriously thinking about submitting to SQLRally and a few SQLSaturday’s.

Conclusions

Burn-out is common and can happen to any of us at any time. The keys are to identify you have a problem. Take time off. Do some mindless things. Reread a book or discover a new one. Then ease back into the routine and get back on track. Life is too short not to do the things you want to do.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

