SQL Saturday Denver

September is my favorite month out of the year. It is usually a seasonal transition month, going from hot summer days to cooler fall days depending on where you live. I also have several family members who were born in this month.

The weather

The weather is one reason why I am excited to be attending SQL Saturday in Denver on September 28th.  I lived in and around the Denver area in the 80’s and even met my wife there. I really liked living there with the mountains, fresh air and beautiful weather. The trip will bring back fond memories of friends and family. There is a restaurant called the Blue Bonnet Café on South Broadway I am planning on fitting into the schedule. They have an out of this world Chimi Changa.

Pre-Cons

SQL Saturday Denver is offering 3 all day pre-cons on September 27th from 9-5.

Real World SSIS: A Survival Guide/Tim Mitchell

SQL Server Internals from the Practical Angle/Dmitri Korotkevitch

Predictive Analytics in the Enterprise/Carlos Bossy

Remember these are not part of the SQL Saturday registration and a separate fee. The fee includes all day training, breakfast, lunch and snacks. This is a great opportunity for an all-day training event. Go here to check them out and register fast there are limited seats and they are filling up.

Presenting

My session Daily Checklist and Server Monitoring is one in a series I have called the DBA Survival Guide. I am looking forward to sharing and learning. It has been a while since I attended my last SQL Saturday. Another area I am looking forward to is meeting with new and hanging with old friends from the SQL Community. It should be a fun session and event over all.

Speaker Line up

There are 6 tracks BI, DBA, Dev/DBA, More DBA, Power BI, and Professional Development. With 8 confirmed MVPs and countless others who should be, presenting a wide variety of sessions sure to meet anyone’s list of new things to learn or brush up on. Take a look at the schedule here. If you haven’t registered yet and you are even thinking of attending you need to register. Today!

Conclusion

I have very good memories of living in Denver. I do pass through almost every year with my family during spring break as we head into the mountains but this trip will be much different. This trip will be about learning, sharing, connecting with other cool people in the SQL Community. I am sure when the weekend is over I will be adding the memories to the good side of the ledger. If you are attending SQL Saturday Denver stop and introduce yourself.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

